Monday, August 24, 2015

Announcing the Best in 2014 Texas Health Reporting: TMA’s Anson Jones, MD Awards

Ebola, West Nile virus, mental health care, experimental treatments, workers’ safety, cancer, child sexual abuse, and the West, Texas explosion ― these are just some of the topics covered by Texas’ leading health and medical journalists in 2014. Whether shocking, bittersweet, upsetting, or uplifting, each story drew in readers and left them more informed, aware, or motivated: They stood out. That is part of the reason the judges in TMA’s annual media competition chose to recognize them as this year’s TMA’s Anson Jones, MD, Award winners.

Since 1957, the Texas Medical Association has been recognizing excellence in health journalism annually through its Anson Jones, MD, Awards. Print, broadcast, and online journalists are recognized in 10 categories, including the Texas Health Journalist of the Year. A physician journalist also is recognized. The award is named after pioneer physician, statesman, and prolific writer Anson Jones, MD, perhaps best known as the last president of the Republic of Texas.

Members of TMA’s Council on Health Promotion judge the competition, along with respected journalists who hail from the news publishing and broadcast fields. Stories are judged on accuracy, significance, quality, public interest, and impact. This year’s awards were presented by TMA physicians at local ceremonies during the spring and summer months.

2014 Winners of TMA’s Anson Jones, MD, Awards 
(Judges awarded honorable mentions in several categories. See the entire list of honorees.):

Small-Market TV
Karin McCay, Azian Bermea, and Kasie Davis 
KCBD-TV, Lubbock 

In-Depth TV
Janet St. James
WFAA-TV, Dallas

Large-Circulation Print
Anna Kuchment
The Dallas Morning News

Small-Circulation Print
Kevin King 
Vital Signs

In-Depth Print
Emily DePrang
The Texas Observer

Lauren Silverman
KERA FM, Dallas

In-Depth Radio
Lauren Silverman
KERA FM, Dallas

Online/Mixed Media
Jay Root and The Texas Tribune staff
The Texas Tribune

Texas Health Journalist of the Year
The Dallas Morning News

No comments :

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...